blogging, community, music, The Invisible Moth, writing

Do I Have a Writer’s Playlist?

Image result for music

The short answer is, yes, yes, I do. There are certain artists/songs I prefer to listen to while I try to write…er, while I’m writing. (I honestly debated whether to put this post under “music day” or “writing day”.)

When it comes to music, I tend to be picky. Nothing with too much bass, too much profanity, or too teenybopper. And I tend to skip the second half of the 20th century almost entirely. My favorite styles are indie rock/pop, Celtic, classical, and some jazz.

As a dancer, I’m very aware of the stories songs/music can tell, not just in lyrics, but in the journey of the melody and the feelings all of it creates in the listener. I’ve even included mentions in my current WIP to songs which really made an impact on my train of thought/progression of the story.

Image result for music

So, in no particular order, here’s my playlist of the last few months:

  • “Geronimo” by Sheppard
  • nearly anything off Adele’s “25” album
  • the singles from Taylor Swift’s “1989” album
  • Pink’s greatest hits
  • some classic David Bowie (the Goblin King’s passing earlier this year made me nostalgic)
  • vintage Lady Gaga (like “Poker Face” and “Bad Romance”)
  • “People Like Us” by Kelly Clarkson
  • “Chandelier” by Sia
  • “Shut Up and Dance With Me” by Walk the Moon
  • “We Are Young” by Fun
  • “Run” by Snow Patrol
  • a bunch of stuff by The Killers
  • White Fang’s playlist (on his YouTube channel)
  • pretty much anything by The Piano Guys

Image result for music cats

All these artists/songs speak to me in different ways, fuel different areas of my creativity. I don’t have to have music on to write, but sometimes it really helps.

Image result for music cats

 

4 thoughts on “Do I Have a Writer’s Playlist?”

  1. OMG you’re a fan of the piano guys?!? I love them! And things like that are totally my jam while I’m writing! (I basically listen to a lot of soundtracks and classical stuff too) (I love a lot of the other stuff you mentioned for basically every other occasion)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We stumbled across The Piano Guys while trying to find something family-appropriate on TV one night. They were in concert at Red Rocks (an amazing natural amphitheater in Colorado). Such a great addition to the popular music of today. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

