blogging, community, Fantasy fiction, writing

Beautiful Books Part 2

beautiful books

So, here I am, again participating in this feature hosted by the bloggers listed as such on the image. (Why am I doing this right now when I have NaNo word counts to conquer?) Because sometimes even the most genius of writers (ahem, I can pretend) need to take a break from the composition of their literary masterpiece.

Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

IGHghdju fjeij jf h vl,knf0f/s[ks].jkhfuovffelkf’;csmkl’dslkPGG/1pnpo.,mcx,jkdlmf,bl;.mv.

(And, no, that is not a typo.)

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

First paragraph:

It wasn’t a dark and stormy night. It was a pleasant late summer’s evening, shortly after sunset, the sky a rich navy blue, stars beginning to twinkle in the distance. In a pleasant subdivision, residents were settling in for the night. In a tent pitched on one of the well-mowed lawns was a group of four girls, in their pajamas and sleeping bags, currently finding out who could come up with the scariest scary story.

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Hmmm. Can I say all of them? (Is it like being asked which is your favorite child?)

What do you love about your novel so far?

The premise. Seeing that come to fruition. Developing the characters more.

Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

Mistakes, yes (but we won’t discuss that here). Typos — hmm, sorry, but nothing really amusing. (At least, not to my knowledge…)

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

The middle. Everything is flowing smoothly, the plot is going, the characters are established; I can actually do a fair amount of storytelling, rather than worrying about consistency in early world-building and pesky details like that.

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

My writing habits mostly involve re-reading what I just wrote last the day or time period before, and make sure I refresh my memory on where I was, before I begin anew. Sometimes I glower at the screen for a bit and complain out loud to myself. Sometimes I eat — mostly something sweet (oh, hush, you know you do it, too), and tea. Often I do listen to music. Usually morning is better for me, because a) children are better behaved then, b) there are less chores to do, and c) what I wanted to write about is still fresh in my mind.

This picture is not of me, but it’s still worth the share:

Image result for cats typing

How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, Batman)?

I definitely need to be alone. Or at least left alone by people in the vicinity. Preferably, everyone goes to the other end of the house/school and work/Montana when I really need to tackle that word count.

Although having the cheering going on in the sidelines (like social media), or after I’m done for the day, is very helpful.

What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

Pure bullheadedness? Maybe. Mostly it’s that I don’t like the idea of giving up on this project that I’ve already put so much heart and soul (and sweat and blood) into.

What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

Don’t give up. Take a break when you need to. Don’t be super-critical of your own work.

9 thoughts on “Beautiful Books Part 2”

  1. I relate SO MUCH to #1 and #9. Like, ahem, my constant mental state is “let me face smash on the keyboard because what even am I writing” 😂 And I want 10000% quiet in the house when I’m writing, bUT I do like to chat with other writers on twitter!! I think sometimes trying to talk to non-writers is just…it doesn’t work.😂 baha. Ahem. ANYWAY BEST OF LUCK!! I hope you’re doing well with your NaNoing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, there are (important) things that non-writers just don’t get! I’m hanging in there! So far I’m managing to achieve reasonable goals (by my standard of comparing what the website thinks I should be doing to what is realistic for me that day, and then yelling at the NaNo website and just doing what I can).

      Like

  2. Tea drinkers and middle lovers unite! I like middles for the same reason you do. I find less pressure in middles. XD What’s your favorite type of tea? Happy writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

