books, Fantasy fiction, music, reading

What Are You Reading/Watching/Listening To Wednesday

29388-siam_cat_eye_12763

Another weekly theme? What is happening to me, you may ask? Hey, it won’t last long, trust me… (Mostly because I will run out of things to say on the theme, or will even forget what the theme is…)

I like this version for Wednesdays, where you give your community a little peek into all of your entertainment at the time, instead of just your reading material. You get a bit more information on a variety of topics, and you get to know your favorite bloggers a little better, too!

This week I am reading…

Image result for mort terry pratchett

Mort by Terry Pratchett. I’m re-reading it, more accurately, and truthfully, for about the 4th time. I hardly mind. Not only is it, in my view, one of the best Discworld novels, I think it should be considered one of the best fantasy novels of the 20th century. Mort gives us the real insider’s look at the beloved character of Death (think the Angel of, or the Grim Reaper, but really not so grim in Pratchett’s imagining). It’s full of humor and wit and plenty of poignant moments; the ending never fails to bring me to tears (and remember this is me, approximately 40% Vulcan).

I am watching…

Related image

Riverdale. Now, this is the oddest thing — my cable network carries the CW channel (where all new broadcasts of this show originate), but for some reason, it is not offered in our particular subscription package. Huh? It’s among the basic channels, as well, listed right along with NBC, CBS, ABC and PBS. So, why, just, why, Time Warner/Spectrum? (This is part of a whole separate issue, so I digress.) Anyway, I can still access CW On Demand (again, huh?), but I am grateful for this, because it means I get to watch Riverdale. Have I ever read an Archie comic in my life? Nope. Do I have any idea of what the long-term/hardcore fans are talking about with references to the classic characters? Not a stitch. But I am really enjoying this TV series. It’s much darker than I expected, but it has surprising heart, and the writing isn’t half bad most of the time.

I am listening to…

Related image

Dragonhearted by Captain Sparklez and Try Hard Ninja. White Fang first introduced me to these YouTube icons. They started with The Fallen Kingdom trilogy of videos (based on Minecraft, but with an original plot), then late in 2016 released a 4th to make it a quadrilogy (aaaargh to that word). The newest video is Dragonhearted. You really have to watch the Fallen Kingdom, then Take Back the Night, and Find the Pieces first, for Dragonhearted to make any sense, though. (As it is, Captain Sparklez has released an updated quad video on his YouTube channel. Thanks, Jordan!) These songs are catchy, clever, and the videos are like little movies, full of action and plenty of heartstring-tugging moments. (Hello there, I am The Invisible Moth, and I swear I am part-Vulcan…)

11 thoughts on “What Are You Reading/Watching/Listening To Wednesday”

  1. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying Riverdale – I haven’t started watching this yet, but with everyone talking about it, I’m really curious now 🙂

    Like

      1. It’s a bit of a slippery slope for me, though – I can easily see myself dropping Riverdale like a hot rock if the writing starts going in a direction I don’t like. For now, I’m really enjoying it, so I truly hope it keeps up this standard!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. For me, it’s not that hard to stop watching something that I’m honestly not enjoying. Sometimes, if it’s coming to the end of a series, I’ll stick it out just to see how it finishes. But most of the time, I can abandon without any guilt or remorse. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      3. haha that’s the normal way to be, believe me. I can’t tell you how many times people have told me to “just stop watching” if I hate something so much that I complain about it non-stop- but I have a really addictive personality and just get into this “I need to see what happens” state of mind!! 😉

        Like

      4. Sometimes I’ll be like, “Okay, I’ll tough it out, because if I don’t know what happens to…” then it will bug me. But others I can “cut the cord” without any looking back. I think of Buffy the Vampire Slayer as a classic example. (I slayed the cord halfway through season 4. Have never even caught up on DVDs/Netflix, whatever. Saw the musical on BBC repeats years ago, and honestly enjoyed it, but it did not encourage me one whit to get back into the regular series.)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

