blogging, Fantasy fiction, The Invisible Moth, writing, Young Adult fiction

Author Q & A

img_0098

Just what it says on the tin… These are from my Goodreads author page.

Where did you get the idea for your most recent book?

Watching too much “Supernatural” and reading too much “Warriors”. (Honestly.)

How do you get inspired to write?

Mostly by what I read and watch. But also by song lyrics and things like paintings and photographs. Visual beauty.

What are you currently working on?

Volume 2 of the series. (As yet untitled, because I have the decision-making power of a sleeping llama.)

What’s your advice for aspiring writers?

Just keep trying. Don’t give up. Even when you feel like everything you produce is utter rubbish, don’t doubt your ability to create something important and special. It does take a lot of literal sweat and tears (and blood if you count papercuts on your hardcopy editing manuscripts). Listen to Churchill – “Never, never, never give up.”

What’s the best thing about being a writer?

Is there? Kidding. The creation of something that was in your head to page and text. Seeing your fictional world come alive.

How do you deal with writer’s block?

Scream a lot. Throw a pillow. Rue the day you decided to attempt this venture.

No, seriously, step away from your WIP. Maybe for a long time. Try writing something else, or nothing at all for a bit. Try reading new material, or watch a fun movie – distract your brain.

What mystery in your own life could be the plot for a book?

Why my husband loses his glasses so frequently, and where do they go when he’s sure he set them down elsewhere than the spot we find them in.

010

12 thoughts on “Author Q & A”

  1. Ahh this is great!! I love your advice for writers, so true omg. And eternal hurrahs for Supernatural. I’m sure like most of my books have been subtly influenced by those darn Winchester brothers.😂
    (I see you with the sleeping llama again.😂 That is still my new favourite saying from you haha.)

    Like

    1. Yeah, apparently the llama hung around for a while…

      Honestly, I was always troubled by the turn of events in season 5-6-7 of Supernatural – the parts where the brothers were destined by fate to destroy and rebuild the whole world, but only so that others could profit – it made me seriously wonder, “why the heck isn’t there some kind of group or organization that would put these stupid demons/angels in their place? I mean, by the year 2000 AD in human history?!” The last few years I’ve thought a lot about that concept – what would that group look like? how would they behave towards the world and towards each other? After the Men of Letters story arc was introduced, I mentally weighed a lot of the possible pros and cons of belonging to a society like that, whether it would really work indefinitely or would the system start to fall apart, etc. As an only child, I sincerely can only relate to the brotherly spats/love/rivalry so much. 😛

      Like

    1. This used to be me watching Supernatural: “OH MY GOD, CROWLEY, YOU’RE AWESOME!!!” “CASTIEL, NOOO!!” By the end of season 9, I was an absolute mess on the floor. For me, it didn’t really get good until season 7, and unfortunately after season 11, I am done. But there are still lots of things about 8-10 that I love.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I have to say, at first it was “poor Dean,” but by about halfway through season 8, I really wanted him to grow up and knock it off (and you’ll see what I mean). Yeah, Sam made some BIG mistakes early on, but the difference between the brothers is that he *really* learned from them, and I think by the start of season 10, it’s clear who the more mature brother is, regardless of age. That’s been one of the deciding factors for me when it comes to whether I still watch or not. I just got tired when the plot began to feel hackneyed. You’re at the point when some of the really good stuff is about to start, though. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. haha fair enough! In season 1 I thought Sam was a sweetie… not anymore!! ah I look forward to seeing him evolve for sure!! Ahh fair enough!! I get that- I don’t see how a show can run for that long and not get old to be honest. Excellent!! 😀

        Like

      3. Yeah, about a month ago, I heard that they’d just been renewed for season 13, and I just went, “Nooooooo…” Most of the really good characters have either been killed off or are hardly in it anymore, so I can’t see how they’re going to redeem themselves. Basically there’s nothing new left to do, so hopefully they find a nice way to wrap it up soon. Do justice to the storylines/characters that we loved as they once were. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Personally, I expected season 10 to be the end – they hinted at a possible “end of it all” in the latter half of the season, and the set-up in the final episode would’ve been an AMAZING finale. But in the last few minutes they threw in a new thing, which totally blew (in my opinion), and now it’s only downhill…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

