blogging, books, Encouragement, reading

Reading Slumps

Image result for cute animals reading

What’s a reading slump? Only the most terrible thing in the world, ever, for a bookdragon. And yet, they are inevitable. Every now and again, you’ll realize that you just don’t feel like reading anything.

Your usual styles/authors/subjects just aren’t sparking interest. You feel terribly bored, or let down by a genre, or you simply crave something different, yet every new book you take a look at feels destined to fall flat.

Now that I’ve struck terror into the very depth of your souls…

Here are some ideas on how to get through a reading slump.

Image result for cute animals reading

Don’t push yourself too much. If you feel like you should be reading, there’s simply no need to feel that way. A major reason I’ve decided not to do ARCS is because I don’t want to be on a deadline and not inspired to read the work in question. Even as an author, someone who relies on volunteer reviewers getting a critique out in a timely manner, I still totally support bloggers who choose to limit the number of ARCS they include in their schedule.

Try something outside of your usual loves. If you tend to gravitate towards contemporaries, pick up a historical fiction. Not sure if steampunk is your thing? Give it a go. Never read a James Patterson or a Kristin Hannah? It’s what the library is for.

It’s actually okay not to read anything for a bit. Yes, you heard that right. If you go for a few days, or even a few weeks, without finishing that novel on your shelf that you started last year, truly, the world will not end, I promise.

Attempt a re-read. Not sure anymore what happened in book 5 of Harry Potter? Book 3 of Percy Jackson? Do you have Me Before You or A Monster Calls marked as “read it” on your Goodreads account, but you’re honestly not sure if you’re just thinking of the film versions now?

Related image

Now, what about this dreaded prospect?: You’re a book blogger, so putting new content on your site kind of makes it necessary that you read new stuff. Well, in the event of a reading slump, I have you covered there, too.

Find a related topic to discuss. Like a trend in publishing that bugs you — like if there are dystopias everywhere, or road trip novels, but you’d really prefer to see an uptake in pirate stories or new sorts of mythological/legend re-tellings.

If you like to do tags, catch up on a few of those. Or join a weekly theme that doesn’t rely on recently completing a new read. Top 10 Tuesdays are usually good for this, because the theme often relates to books you’ve already finished.

Consider reviewing a book you read a long time ago that you decided not to review before. Maybe because it was a novel outside of your usual genre, or was it a biography, or a collection of poetry? There’s no rule about the type of reading we “have” to be reviewing.

Image result for cute animals reading

The most important thing to do is: don’t panic. It really is all right — and probably natural — to hit a reading slump. And it happens for all kinds of reasons — whether your life is busy, or the latest publishing trends just aren’t your thing, or even looking at a towering TBR makes you go, “Meh.”

One day, this will be over. I promise.

Image result for cute animals reading

5 thoughts on “Reading Slumps”

  1. You always give such lovely advice! I LOVE IT. I generally just read through my slumps, which can unfortunately end up with me giving the books lower star ratings. 😭 But I have too much to read and not enough time sooooo I choose to handle the slumps that way. Eeek. But I TOTALLY agree with reading something a bit different to shake things up. I picked up an adult sci-fi the other day which I’ve not really read much in before?! I couldn’t put it down, just because it was a bit different to the norm!!

    PS. I’m so behind on emails but I’m going to email you soon I swear. I just wanted to let you know I’m an unorganised hot mess atm not that I’m ignoring.😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am always an organized hot mess. Almost always. So no judgement from me. And life creates such situations, does it not.

      Right now, I’m just doing re-reads of books I own that I hadn’t owned before (meaning I’ve read them before, but generally a long time ago, and they were borrowed copies). Which is what I tend to do when I really like a book I just got from the library, then I run out and buy my own, and then wait 2 years to read it again, so it doesn’t feel stale right away. Also, it’s really good to have a sort of “safety net” for when the TBR of new stuff runs dry!

      Like

Leave a Reply

